This operational handbook was prepared by Avinash Kanchar with inputs from Dennis Falzon and Matteo Zignol under the overall direction of Tereza Kasaeva, Director of the WHO Global TB Programme. The WHO Global TB Programme gratefully acknowledges the contributions of all experts and reviewers involved in the production of the latest update of the WHO guidelines on TB preventive treatment on which this handbook is based, as well as other contributors.

Guideline Development Group of the 2020 guideline revision

The Guideline Development Group (GDG) was composed of Mohammed Al Lawati (Consultant Physician, Oman); Helen Ayles (Infectious Diseases and International Health, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine (LSHTM), Zambia); Rolando Cedillos (Service of Infectious Diseases and Integrated Programme for STI/HIV/AIDS, El Salvador); Padmapriyadarsini Chandrasekaran (National Institute for Research in Tuberculosis, India); Diana Gibb (Medical Research Council, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland); Yohhei Hamada (Research Institute of Tuberculosis (RIT), Japan Anti- Tuberculosis Association (JATA), Japan); Anthony D Harries (International Union Against Tuberculosis and Lung Disease, France; London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK); Alexander Kay (Baylor College of Medicine, Global TB Program, Eswatini); Nasehi Mahshid (Department of TB and Leprosy Control, Centre for Control of Communicable Diseases, Ministry of Health and Medical Education, Iran); Alberto Matteelli (University of Brescia, WHO Collaborative Centre for TB/HIV and TB Elimination, Italy); Lindiwe Mvusi (National Department of Health, South Africa); Kuldeep Singh Sachdeva (National Tuberculosis Elimination Programme, India); Nandi Siegfried (Medical Research Council / University of Cape Town, South Africa); Ezio Távora dos Santos Filho (Civil Society Task Force, Brazil); Marieke van der Werf (European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control, Sweden); Wim Vandevelde (Global TB Community Advisory Board, South Africa); and Irina Vasilyeva (Ministry of Health, Russian Federation). The co-chairs of the GDG were Lindiwe Mvusi and Nandi Siegfried. Nandi Siegfried was also the GRADE methodologist.

Observers of the 2020 guideline revision

Sevim Ahmedov (US Agency for International Development (USAID), USA); Draurio Barreira Cravo Neto (UNITAID, Switzerland); Anand Date (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, USA); Suvanand Sahu (Stop TB Partnership, Switzerland); Surbhi Modi (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, USA); Harry Hausler (TBHIV Care, South Africa); Lucia Gonzalez Fernandez (International AIDS Society, Switzerland); Anna Scardigli (Global Fund to Fight AIDS, TB and Malaria, Switzerland).

External Review

The External Review Group (ERG) for the 2020 guidelines was composed of Connie Erkens (KNCV TB Foundation, Netherlands); Steve Graham (Center for International Child Health University of Melbourne, Australia); Giovanni B Migliori (Istituti Clinici Scientifici Maugeri, IRCCS and WHO Collaborating Centre for TB and Lung Diseases, Italy); Rohit Sarin (National Institute of TB and Respiratory Diseases, India); James Seddon (Imperial College, UK); Alena Skrahina (Republican Scientific and Practical Centre for Pulmonology and TB, Belarus); and Carrie Tudor (International Council of Nurses, South Africa)

Other persons who responded to a call for public review of the draft handbook in February 2020 are also acknowledged: Grania Brigden; Judith Bruchfeld; Michael Campbell; Martina Casenghi; Joseph Cavanaugh; Rebekah Chang; Gavin Churchyard; Bill Coggin; Jennifer Cohn; Vivian Cox; Jacob Creswell;Tran Cuc Hong; Kelly Dooley; Rena Fukunaga; Jennifer Furin; Laura Gillini; Martina Hajduk; Agnès Hamzaoui; Jeremy Hill; David Holtzman; Brian Kaiser; Ian Kracalik; Susan Maloney; Carole Mitnick; Lucy Mupfumi; Sreenivas Nair; Nhung Nguyen Viet; Enos Okumu Masini; Regina Osih; Ishani Pathmanathan; Morten Ruhwald; Nabity Scott; Sarita Shah; Alka Singh; Al Story; Marina Tadolini; Oleksandr Telnov; Kassim T Sidibe; Karin Turner and Ed Zuroweste.

Evidence reviewers

The following persons also contributed to the reviews and summarization of evidence for the 2020 guidelines: Mayara Bastos, Jonathon Campbell and Richard (Dick) Menzies (McGill University, Canada); Richard Chaisson, Amita Gupta, Ritesh Ramchandani and Nicole Salazar-Austin (Johns Hopkins University, USA); Susan Swindells (University of Nebraska, USA); Yohhei Hamada (RIT/JATA, Japan); Lynne M. Mofenson (Consultant, WHO HIV Department).

Other WHO staff

WHO is grateful for the contributions of the following WHO headquarters, regional and country office staff: Annabel Baddeley; Deepak Balasubramanian; Vineet Bhatia; Annemieke Brands; Carmen Figueroa; Medea Gegia; Christopher Gilpin; Philippe Glaziou; A.b.m. Tauhidul Islam; David Lowrance; Cecily Miller; Lorenzo Moja; Wilfred Nkhoma; Rafael Lopez Olarte; Malik Parmar; Kalpeshsinh Rahevar; Ranjani Ramachandran; Andreas Reis; Françoise Renaud; Elizaveta Safronova; Kafui Senya; Mukta Sharma; Satvinder Singh; Lana Syed; Hazim Timimi; Martin Van Den Boom; Sabine Verkuijl; Wilson Were; Rajendra Prasad Yadav; Askar Yedilbayev

In addition, WHO acknowledges support from Unitaid-funded projects: IMPAACT4TB – Increasing Market and Public health outcomes through scaling up Affordable Access models of short Course preventive therapy for TB (for permitting content on TPT, 3HP and adherence, also available on as well as Catalyzing Pediatric Tuberculosis Innovation (CaP-TB)

The design and layout of this operational handbook was made possible by funding provided by Unitaid.

Book navigation